A Hostage

COLUMBIA 70216 (1967)

Theodorakis composes the songs from Brendan Behan’s play, sensitized by the liberation struggle of the Irish people and the wider movements for social justice and freedom. The work -with the excellent adaptation in Greek by Vassilis Rotas- very soon becomes a property of the Greek people who make the songs symbols of their own struggles.

Music: Mikis Theodorakis
Poetry: Brendan Behan / Vassilis Rotas

01. On the Eighteenth Day of November
02. The laughing boy
03. Open the door softly
04. I’ve heard my love
05. I remember in September
06. You read the Bible in its Golden Pages
07. I send, dear Mother, to thee
08. Never throw stones at your mother
09. I am a happy English lad
10. Would you live on a woman’s earnings?
11. I will give a golden ball
12. I love my dear redeemer
13. No-one goes by here
14. Who fears to speak of Easter Week
15. The bells of hell

Other Release:
EMI 4802992 (1994)