PEREGRINA PM 50061 (1996)

Dionysis Karadzas wrote twelve poems, which were set to music for Maria’s voice by Mikis Theodorakis in 1995, as Lyrikotera. Poetica was recorded in February 1996 at the Bauer Studiios in the city of Ludwigsburg and included five more songs from a previous collaboration between Theodorakis and Karadzas: The Faces of the Sun (track nr.: 4, 8, 9, 12 & 13). The release includes a brochure with translations of the poems into English, French and German.

Music: Mikis Theodorakis
Poetry: Dionysis Karadzas

Henning Schmiedt: piano, arrangements
Volker Schlott: flute, saxophone
Frederique Brillouin: oboe
Frank Kuruc: guitar
Jens Naumilkat: cello
Μartin Lillich: bass
Christian Dähn: percussion
Uli Moritz: percussion

01. The words of heaven
02. I cherished the dream
03. Bright pain
04. The faces of the Sun
05. Nostalgia
06. Obstinate present
07. Sobbing angels
08. The sea at noon
09. With half moon
10. Water trees
11. July
12. The colour of love
13. The way of the moon
14. Light pause
15. Like a cloud
16. With the ocean’s clenched strength
17. Suicide of a reserve month