Dark Mother

ΣΕΙΡΙΟΣ-EMI 86004 (1987)

When the composition of this cycle was done Manos Hadjidakis contacted Makis Matsas, (director of the record company MINOS, where Maria Farantouri had a contract), and asked him for …Rostropovich of his company to record a of his new work! M. Matsas gave the permission to Maria Farantouri and so the present album was recorded and released with a collage of Odysseus Elytis on the cover – Memory of Fra Angelico, 1977.

Music: Manos Hadjidakis
Poetry: Nikos Gatsos

Maria Farantouri: voice
Tassos Karakatsanis: piano, harpsichord
Yorgos Moloudakis: classical guitar
Yannis Spathas: electric guitar
Nikos Antipas: drums

01. Dark Mother
02. You are a fountain in the sky
03. This was our life
04. All the stars
05. The garden of Allah
06. Five letters
07. Let the time
08. Night passenger
09. If you were batty
10. There were four lads
11. The Platytera of Heavens
12. Without Wings

Other release
ΣΕΙΡΙΟΣ-EMI 860042 (1994)