Beatrice in Zero Street

MINOS - EMI 48059215 (1994)

A cycle of songs -for voice and piano- by Mikis Theodorakis, who added two poems to the ten of the Patras poet and philologist Dionysis Karatzas. The recording of voice and piano (played by the eminent pianist Dora Bakopoulou) at the same time was conducted by Theodorakis. The booklet icluded contains the poems, photographs by Johanna Weber shot during the recording and a note by the composer, in which we read about Beatrice: …Ascended to the highest pedestal of the Greek Scene, she regains her immortal nature, becomes again a symbol of eternal love and lets her voice spread over pines, islands and people ……

Music: Mikis Theodorakis
Poetry: Dionysis Karadzas, Mikis Theodorakis

Voice: Maria Farantouri
Piano: Dora Bakopoulou

01. Beatrice – With crazy birds
02. Beatrice, stop laughing
(Mikis Theodorakis)
03. Beatrice in Zero Street
(Mikis Theodorakis)
04. The great aria of Beatrice
05. Helen-Beatrice
06. At nights
07. Playing music
08. It is the night
09. Without words
10. You bloom over centuries
11. When the days descent
12. In plant silence

Other release
MINOS – EMI 4805922