Of Love and Death

Legend 2201159927 / 2201159928 (2010)

Live recording of a concert – homage to Mikis Theodorakis given in Athens Concert Hall, in 30th of January and 1st of February of 2008, presenting four cycles of his songs: A Hostage (with singer Christos Thevaeos participating), The Ballad of Mauthausen, Odyssey and The Farantouri Cycle.

Music: Mikis Theodorakis
Poetry: Brendan Behan/Vassilis Rotas, Iakovos Kambanellis, Kostas Kartelias, Nikos Gatsos, Yerassimos Stavrou,
Tassos Leivathitis

Maria Farantouri: voice
Christos Thevaeos: voice
Henning Schmiedt: piano, arrangements
Volket Schlott: saxophone, flute
Kostas Zarithakis: bouzouki
Kai Brückner: guitar
Caroline Siegers: violin
Jens Naumilkat: cello
H.D. Lorenz: contrabass
Dimitris Marinakis: percussion

CD 1

A Hostage
(Brendan Behan / Vassilis Rotas)

01. Never throw stones at your mother
02. I send, dear Mother, to thee
03. I remember in September
04. You read the Bible in its Golden Pages
05. I will give a golden ball
06. I’ve heard my love
07. Would you live on a woman’s earnings?
08. No-one goes by here
09. I am a happy English lad
10. I love my dear redeemer
11. Open the door softly
12. On the Eighteenth Day of November
13. The laughing boy
14. The bells of hell
15. Who fears to speak of Easter Week

The Ballad of Mauthausen
(Iakovos Kambanellis)

16. Song of Songs
17. Andonis
18. The fugitive
19. When the war is over

CD 2

(Kostas Kartelias)

01. Castaway
02. By the sea
03. The song of the comrades
04. To Calypso
05. To Nausicaa
06. In the Under World
07. The song of the Sirens
08. The song of Penelope
09. La Belle Helene
10. Without ID (Outis)
11. Homage to Mikis Theodorakis – Instrumental
(Μουσική Henning Schmiedt)

The Farantouri Cycle

12. The pendulum
(Nikos Gatsos)
13. The dream
(Nikos Gatsos)
14. I’ m tired of holding you
(Dimitris Christothoulou)
15. In the world’s uphill
(Nikos Gatsos)
16. The shadow fell heavily
(Yerassimos Stavrou)
17. I took the streets of heaven
(Tassos Leivathitis)